Warmly Welcome to New Editorial Board Members


The Vietnam Journal of Mechanics was established by the Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology in 1979. After more than 40 years of development, the Journal has become the leading journal of Vietnam and in South East Asia in the field of Mechanics. In order to increase the Journal’s International prestige and visibility, Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology desires more International scientists to join the Editorial Board of the Journal.

The year 2020 marks a great event for the Vietnamese Mechanics Community on the way to integrate the Journal with International journals. In addition to the existing members the Vietnam Journal of Mechanics warmly welcomes 24 new international members from 11 countries: Canada, China, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Korea, Singapore, United Kingdom, United States. They are the leading scholars from the finest academic institutions all over the world. Especially among the new international members, there are 15 Editors-in-Chief of the world's leading journals in the field of Mechanics and related science and technology. In particular, we warmly welcome the "great trees", Professor J. Tinsley Oden from University of Texas at Austin and Professor Zdeněk Pavel Bažant from Northwestern University, and the honorary Editor, Professor Klaus-Jurgen Bathe from Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The involvement of the world’s leading scholars in our Editorial Board will make great strengths which help to maintain high standards of the Journal. We are extremely grateful for the invaluable comments and advices of our Editorial Board in contributing to the strategic development of the Journal.

It would not be a complete picture without mentioning the outstanding contribution of Professor Isaac Elishakoff with his enthusiasm and concern for the Journal. The discussions and exchanges with him during his visit to Hanoi from the last day of 2019 have brought us the great success and joy of today's gathering!

Once again we are delighted to warmly welcome all Editorial Board Members. We wish you all further successes and peaceful days and years!

Nguyen Dong Anh